What now that YouView and Google TV are available

Having decided in May not to wait for YouView and Google TV am I now regretting that decision to buy the Sony Media Player?  No I don’t think so.Humax YouView Humax have a YouView/ Freeview HD recorder box DTR-1000 see the offer at John Lewis for £299.95  It looks good but I might just have to wait until my existing Freeview box is ready for replacement

Sony Google TV

Google TV on a Sony box. The NSZ-GS7 sounds a great idea but isn’t it just android in a box with Chrome browser – see BBC article. You can pre-order from Sony here. It will cost £199 whereas my Sony media player box only cost £79.

My home media network is already set up for DLNA compatibility. My recently arrived new Google Nexus 7 Tablet  will be able to ‘throw’ music at my TV and other devices – with the right app – and will only cost me £159.

Nexus Q

Then Google throws in a googly the Nexus Q an enigmatic box (sphere) that pulls everything direct from the Google Play store although its not available in the UK see PC World article It also needs an Android Smartphone or Tablet to operate it. We’ll wait and see how that pans out.

So am I going to be missing out?  I don’t think so

related posts:

Why wait for YouView or Google TV

My multi-room media shifting set-up

Author: martinrstone

I am one of those guys who loves gadgets. I am also a keen wildlife watcher and all things to do with nature and the environment. My Personal Web Page http://xeeme.com/martinrstone

Leave a comment