Digiscoping at Martin Mere

Incognito-Peregrine

Incognito-Peregrine,
originally uploaded by martinrstone.

I used the opportunity whilst visiting my new granddaughter to pop into the Wildfowl & Wetlands Trust Site at Martin Mere just outside Southport in Lancashire.

It was bright but the light was soft and it was calm. Great day for catching reflections in the water.

There was a pair of Peregrines relaxing in the sun observing the Whooper swans and othe wildfowl, pretending not to be there. But with my new digiscoping set up I was able to get a shot.

See the Martin Mere set on my Flickr site

I was using an old 60mm Opticron telescope with the DSLR adaptor to connect to my Nikon D60 but it required the camera to be in manual model so that I was forever adjusting the setting trying to get the exposure right.

Recently I upgraded to a Nikon 82mm Fieldscope with the disgiscoping adaptor FSA-L1. This adaptor allows me to use the automatic settings on the camera leaving me to concentrate solely on the focus.

Here is a picture of my new set up

digiscoping-with-nikon
digiscoping-with-nikon

 

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Author: martinrstone

I am one of those guys who loves gadgets. I am also a keen wildlife watcher and all things to do with nature and the environment. My Personal Web Page http://xeeme.com/martinrstone

2 thoughts on “Digiscoping at Martin Mere”

  1. I’m thinking of changing from a Nikon Fieldscope connected to a Coolpix camera, to connecting the Fieldscope to a D5000 using the FSA L1 adaptor. How do you find it? How easy is fitting/removal of the camera and adaptor?

    Keep enjoying the digiscoping!

    Best wishes,
    Steve

Leave a Reply

